GDPR

Home Forums Data issues GDPR

This topic contains 76 replies, has 18 voices, and was last updated by  Ibrahim Mayat 34 minutes ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 77 total)
  • Author
  • Alison_ITS
    Participant

Hi

Has anyone devised a letter and/or consent form for learners and/or Employers yet with regards to GDPR? If so would you mind sharing! I’m finding it all a minefield with regards to how much information to give to learners/employers and exactly what consent we need.

Regards

steveh
    Participant

Hi Alison

Bear in mind we have Contractual reasons (and possibly Public Task and Legal reasons) for processing the vast majority of information we collect on learners (certainly everything that goes in the ILR!), so relying on consent is not required except, I’d suggest, for marketing activities?

Happy to be corrected, I’m not an expert on this.

• This reply was modified 3 months, 3 weeks ago by  steveh. Reason: clarity

JJP1981
    Participant

Not sure whether this adds much, but we are currently awaiting the revision to the ESFA’s own privacy notice, which will hopefully address the issues and basis for capture and retention of information.

We have a wider GDPR project ongoing which has yet to complete, this may put additional burden on us over and above ESFA’s notice, but I am unclear what that would be until I see ESFA’s own notice.

cheers,
    JJ

steveh
    Participant

Handily, ICO have just updated their privacy notices page

https://ico.org.uk/for-organisations/guide-to-data-protection/privacy-notices-transparency-and-control/

so I’m sure our ESFA colleagues are hard at work on providing us with something…

Alison_ITS
    Participant

Thanks folks, I too am eagerly awaiting the ESFA’s updated privacy notice which I hope will be of some help.

I’ll take a look at the link you’ve sent too Steve – thanks for that.

Paul Rogers
    Participant

Hi all,